“Children are like tiny flowers: They are varied and need care, but each is beautiful alone and glorious when seen in the community of peers. Play is the highest expression of human development in childhood for it alone is the free expression of what is in a child’s soul. “ Frederich Frobel

 Here at John Ball Early Years we pride ourselves on embracing the unique child; nurturing their holistic development, embracing their interests and challenging their expectations; inspiring them to be their ‘very best selves.’ Our taught, guided and free flow sessions aim to capture the imaginations of the children, whilst providing them with the key skills and knowledge to become independent, curious and motivated learners. The Characteristics of Effective learning are at the heart of our practice and we aim to immerse our children in a wide variety of learning opportunities promoting unity, respect and a celebration of our individuality. Our open-door policy invites all parents and carers to join us on each child’s learning journey in order to embrace the ‘whole child’ and begin a valued partnership between school and home.

Our Curriculum: Early Years

At John Ball we understand the vital role that the Early Years Foundation Stage plays in laying the secure foundations for future learning and development. Our Framework is based on four guiding principles:

  • A Unique Child
  • Positive Relationships
  • Enabling Environments
  • Learning and Development

Throughout their time in the Early Years, we will guide the children on their journey of development through the key areas as set out by the DfE:


  • PSED
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Education

The three prime areas are crucial to early education. They develop quickly in response to exposure to stimulating experiences and the establishment of secure relationships; the fundamental tools of the Early Years curriculum. Securing strong foundations in these prime areas allows teachers to focus directly on the specifics:


  • Maths
  • Literacy
  • Expressive Arts and Design
  • Understanding the World

Whilst embracing the integrity of the Early Years Framework, we celebrate the ‘magic’ of the Early Years, allowing the children to become leaders of their own journey, supporting spontaneous learning through play by scaffolding ideas and modelling behaviour.

Observations of the children at play provide us with the knowledge and understanding of where a child is developmentally and how best to identify their individual next steps. These observations are documented within each child’s Learning Journey Folder which they can access at their own leisure to reflect on and celebrate their own achievements and Personal Excellence. Parents are invited to look inside these Learning Journeys to ensure that every child’s achievements can be celebrated by all as part of this collaborative early schooling experience.